ACV, Bone Broth, Coconut Oil, Kefir, Molasses

Day 1 Week 1

I apologize in advance, this post is going to be long.  Because this is the first documentary post of changing my lifestyle and diet I need to give some background as to why I’m doing it, where I’m at in the beginning of this journey, and the steps that I am taking to change it.  The following posts will be updates based on what I lay out here.

Why Am I Doing This?
I have given a brief summary regarding the reasons why I’m taking this journey on my “About” page and in my first post, but I wanted to detail exactly what has been happening so you can know the reasons why I am adjusting my diet and taking certain supplements.  A lot has happened in a relatively short time regarding my health.  In the Fall of 2013 I had an ovarian cyst that was 9cm and was surgically removed in January 2014.  I got pregnant the next month in February.  After having my son in November, I got another cyst that following March in 2015.  Thankfully it went away on it’s own.  But, at this point I knew that my hormones were out of whack.  My OBGYN suggested that I take chemical birth control to “help regulate my hormones.”  I had been against taking chemical birth control in the past because I knew that it could seriously mess up my body if I took it long term.  But I figured, since this was (from what I understood) supposed to be a short term medical treatment to correct my hormonal problem that it would be okay (according to the doctor it would possibly only take three months for my hormones to adjust and hopefully I would be okay after that).  What a joke!  Other than the ovarian cysts that I had developed in the past, I have never had the hormonal problems that I did while I was on this birth control!  Just to name a few symptoms that I experienced while taking it: Mood swings, depression, nausea, frequent urination, distended abdomen, darkening and enlargening of nipples, breasts feeling fuller and heavier (despite the fact that I quit breastfeeding my son in April), fatigue, acne, skin changes, brittle and/or soft nails, dry hair, lower back pain, gassiness, pressure right under my ribs like something was poking me, fullness in the abdomen, acid reflux and my personal favorite was that out of the 10 weeks that I was on the pill, I bled for 8 weeks.  Even after I quit taking the pill, I continued to have most of these symptoms to the point that I was convinced that I was either pregnant or had another cyst.

This is the biggest I got after I quit taking the pill
This was about four weeks after I quit taking the pill

About one month after I quit taking the pill, I went to see my OBGYN who did an ultrasound.  She said that everything looked textbook perfect–no sign of a pregnancy, cysts or even cancer.  So what is going on?!?  I also went to my PCP who took several blood tests and stool samples.  She found that I had a bacterial infection in my intestines which was causing the nausea, bloating and distended abdomen.  I was prescribed really strong antibiotics.  My thyroid was also checked to see if that was causing my hormonal issues but everything came back normal.  So now my immune system is shot, my hormones are a wreck and I can guarantee you that I no longer have any good bacteria left in my gut after taking these antibiotics.  (I have developed a pretty bad yeast infection since).  Long story short, I will NEVER take chemical birth control EVER again!  I guarantee you, that if I hadn’t been taking it, we would have caught this infection much sooner.

So Where Am I Today?
This is six weeks after I quit the chemical birth control, one week after taking the antibiotics and Day 1 of my new diet and lifestyle.

Day 1
Day 1

As you can see, the antibiotics have already made a difference in my size and reduced the bloating and distension.  Today I weigh 151.8 lbs, my waist is 40″ and my bust is 38.5.”  Every week I will update my measurements and any reactions or changes I’ve noticed during the week.

What Steps I’m Taking to Change My Lifestyle and Diet
I’ve decided that my health needs a drastic boost.  I could try to turn to my doctors and pay for more tests and loads of medicine.  Or I could try to naturally heal my body through a change in lifestyle and diet.  As you can guess, I chose the latter.  So what am I doing?  First off, I’m going to completely cut out sugar and processed foods–this means no pasta, no flour and no pizza.  However, to help with sticking with this diet, I want to allow a cheat day about once a month cuz let’s face it, I’m really going to miss pizza!  Next I’m going to add several natural supplements.  I’m already taking vitamins and minerals, but my body needs a little extra help.  So I’m going to start taking Apple Cider Vinegar, Bone Broth, Molasses, Kefir, Coconut oil and a probiotic capsule every day.  I would like to go into detail for each one why I chose it and what benefits it offers, but that will have to be for later posts.  Just know that they help improve the immune system, correct hormones, provide extra vitamins and/or minerals and heal the gut.  In addition, I’m going to try my best to get 6-7 hours of sleep a night and exercise 15-30 minutes a day for five days a week.

So that’s pretty much everything in a nutshell, I hope.  Now that you understand the reasons why I’m taking this new journey, I hope you will join me and see what happens.  I can’t wait to see what next week will bring!

4 thoughts on “Day 1 Week 1”

  1. I look forward to hearing about your changes. I’d love to hear what kind of probiotic capsule you’re using. Maybe you’ll be able to find some really good homemade pizza recipe too! I keep meaning to try to find one I like myself since I’m sure it’ll be better for us than processed.

    Like

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you are having health issues. I’m interested to find out how all the changes your trying to make work out. I would like to caution you about strong antibiotics, I had an issue with a cyst years ago. The Doc put me on amoxicillion I swear it made my thyroid not know what to do and it permenatly messed me up. Since that time I have had to take synthroid once a day for the rest of my life. Wish you the best . Uncle Dan

    Like

  3. Lydia, Bob’s Red Mill has a gluten free pizza crust mix that I really like. It’s pretty bland but I add parsley, garlic powder and oregano to it.

    Dan, I’m sorry to hear that about your experience with antibiotics. I have heard that they can have really bad effects. It’s amazing that the medicine that is supposed to help us hurts us more 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

