Gluten Free, Paleo, Recipes

Recipe: Crustless Quiche

One of my meals for this week was new for me: the crustless quiche.  It turned out really good and even my husband liked it!  My husband is the ultimate test if a meal is delicious.  He can be very picky.  If my husband will eat it, and even go back for seconds, then I know that this is a meal to keep!

I decided to tweak the original recipe to my liking.  You can add whatever you want to the egg mixture, but this time I used sausage crumbles, mushrooms, onions, spinach, swiss cheese and parmesan cheese.  It had a very nice savory flavor to it.  I hoped it would last two nights but there was only one piece left once we all had our fill!  This recipe feeds three people.

Crustless Quiche

Ingredients:
6 eggs
3/4 cup yogurt
1/3 cup shredded swiss cheese
1 cup sausage crumbles
1/2 cup mushrooms
1 onion
1/2 cup spinach
Dash of salt, pepper, oregano and parsley

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray 9″ pie pan with non-stick spray.  In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, yogurt, cheese and spices.  In a skillet saute onions and mushrooms, after a couple minutes add sausage crumbles.  Once the onions are translucent add spinach.  (I always add the spinach last because it wilts so quickly).  Stir in the sauteed meat and veggies with the egg mixture.  Transfer mixture into pie dish.  I topped the mixture with extra swiss cheese and parmesan cheese.  Bake for about 30-35 minutes.

IMG_1405
IMG_1407
IMG_1408
IMG_1409 IMG_1410
I’ve also seen where a crust can be made out of shredded sweet potatoes (I’m sure regular potatoes would do just fine too).  I haven’t tried it yet but would like to sometime.  As you can tell it looks really good and was a big success in my house.  Next time I plan to double the recipe and use a larger dish so that we can have more leftovers.

Leave a Reply

