Uncategorized

Day 28 Week 5

It has been 4 weeks since I started my new health journey!  I have been feeling so much better and am able to wear regular zip-up pants!  This has been such a huge accomplishment for me!

This past week my son and I had a long weekend vacation with some of my friends from college.  We had a blast!  I cheated a lot over the weekend (surprise, surprise).  And I wanted to share with you some of the things that I have learned from my experiences.

IMG_1535

Day 28 Week 5: Weight – 148.6 lbs, Waist 39.5″ and Bust 35.5″.  I put back on some weight, but I’m actually surprised that the bloating wasn’t worse.  I apologize for not having a self-portrait for this week, with so much going on I had forgotten to take one.  But here is a great picture with me and my friends and my son on our vacation!

So what did I eat?  Gluten free pancakes, gluten free cinnamon rolls, tacos with corn tortilla shells, starbucks and Pirate’s Booty (a corn-based cheese puff snack).  All very good, all technically gluten free.  So what happened?  For the most part, I experienced a lot of bloating and discomfort.  But one night, after eating the corn tortilla shells and the Pirate’s Booty, I felt very sick.  I was very nauseous and had really bad acid reflux.  I think that I can safely say that anything corn based is not safe for me at this point.  Just a couple weeks ago I had a large bucket of popcorn and felt really sick the rest of the evening and into the next morning.  I hope that this sensitivity will only be temporary but I’m not holding my breath.  I do not consider this a failure whatsoever.  This is a great learning opportunity.  I have learned I need to stay away from corn-based products.  Gluten gives me a completely different reaction, but I think the corn is worse at this point.  I also learned that the other processed foods I ate only caused bloating–uncomfortable but not completely necessary to avoid.

Before I leave, I did want to mention that after talking with so many of you about my new diet and lifestyle, I would like to add to my blog site a page for all the natural supplements that I am taking.  I have been so excited about all the interest you all have shown in my health journey!  Many of you have asked me for me details about my recipes and the supplements that I take.  I would like to provide exactly what I’m taking and why in an easily accessible place.  So please look forward to this new addition within the next week or two!

Leave a Reply

