Uncategorized

Recipe: Italian Sausage Meatballs

This was a new recipe that I tried this week.  I’m very hesitant to blog about new recipes because if we don’t like it or something doesn’t taste right I don’t feel confident enough to share it.  But this was such a big hit that I think it is worth sharing!  My husband liked them so much that he went back for thirds!  Now I made these with a side of squash casserole, but you can use just about anything.  (Don’t worry, I’ll share that recipe soon!  We like that one a lot too!)

I found this recipe on a readers’ compilation created by Mark Sisson.  He is a great resource that I have used many times that gave me a good foundation for the paleo (he calls it “Primal”) diet.  His website is http://www.marksdailyapple.com.  He researches a lot about different supplements, foods, answers readers’ questions, shares recipes and readers’ success stories.  I have read his book, “The Primal Blueprint”, and like to read his blog quite often.

Mark’s work is honestly the foundation and spring board for when I started my gluten free diet over three years ago.  He explains down to the chemicals and biological reasons why gluten is so bad for us.  Mark believes that with a healthy diet and lifestyle change your body can naturally heal itself and be healthier and happier than ever before.  Himself and many of his readers even come from “healthy” backgrounds such as marathon runners, vegetarians, vegans and calorie counters.  It is very encouraging and motivating to read about their transformations.  I can tell you that I have noticed a big change already not only from my gluten free diet, but now with this new diet and lifestyle change.  I hope you will have a moment to browse his site sometime.

Italian Sausage Meatballs

Ingredients:
1 lb ground beef
1 lb sweet Italian sausage
2 cloves garlic minced
1/2 small yellow onion
1/2 cup coconut flour
2 eggs
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup parmesan
1/4 cup bacon fat
1/2 tsp rosemary
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tbsp. parsley

Directions:
1. Remove sausage from casing.  ( The sausage I found wasn’t cased so I was able to skip this step.)
2. Mix all ingredients except bacon fat.
IMG_1576
3. With lightly oiled hands, roll meatballs into desired size.  As you can see below, I made mine fairly large this time.
IMG_1578
4. Heat bacon fat in a sauté pan, once hot add meatballs.
5. Fry 5-7 minutes, until bottom is browned. (Mine took a lot longer, closer to 10-15 minutes).
6. Turn meatballs and fry for another 5-7 minutes.
IMG_1583
7. Repeat till all batches are fried.
IMG_1584

The original recipe called for almond flour, but seeing as I’m having some issues with anything nut related at this time I tried coconut flour.  I know coconut can be considered a tree nut, but it doesn’t seem to bother me like almonds at this point.  The spices were meant to be fresh sprigs, but I usually don’t keep those unless I get them specially for a recipe, and in which case I didn’t for this one.  So I just kind of eyeballed the dried spice amounts myself.  Feel free to tweak the amounts for what you and your family like.  As I said before, this was a huge hit at my home.  I hope your family will enjoy it as much as mine did!

Leave a Reply

