Uncategorized

Recipe: Holiday Pancakes

I had been craving pancakes this past week.  So…I gave in.  Gluten free and corn free style of course.  🙂  🙂  🙂  I don’t know why, but pancakes make me happy!  They are my ultimate comfort food.

This is my mom’s recipe.  She would make these the size of dinner plates with chocolate chips.  Oh they are so good!  Ever since I went gluten free, I had a really hard time finding a gluten free flour that had the right consistency to make them.  I experimented a lot with almond flour, rice flour and coconut flour.  But still no luck.  Until I found Bob’s Red Mill baking flour mix!  It worked perfectly!  I was so excited that I could make my mom’s pancakes again!  And they are oh so good!  I now like to tweak the recipe and add some spices for a delicious holiday flavor.  Hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Holiday Pancakes:
Ingredients:
2 cups flour (Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free 1 to 1 Baking Flour)
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
2 eggs
3/4 tsp salt
3 tbs sugar
1/4 cup oil
1 1/2 – 2 cups milk
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice

IMG_1657IMG_1660

Directions:
Mix ingredients together in medium bowl.
Cook in large skillet or on griddle.
Wait till underside is lightly browned and flip.

IMG_1661

You can top with many delicious things like syrup, nutella or icing.  This time, I tried it with vanilla icing, which went very well with the holiday spices.  Yum!

IMG_1663

Unfortunately, I have since found out that most icing contains corn starch.  Thumbs down.  Oh well, it was quite delicious when I had it!  We also cooked a batch with butterscotch chips and that was really good too!

A note on milk:
I have tried cooking this recipe with almost every type of milk available.  Below is a breakdown of how each one cooks.

Almond Milk – My personal favorite, it makes everything extra fluffy
Regular Milk – Probably the next best milk, not as fluffy as almond milk but cooks well
Rice Milk – If you can’t have either of the above, this is your next best bet.  Flat but still cooks alright.
Flax Milk – Run away.  This didn’t cook well at all because the pancakes didn’t hold together.  I had to add coconut flour so there was some cohesion to the batter.  This saved the pancakes this time around, but I would never use it again.

1 thought on “Recipe: Holiday Pancakes”

Leave a Reply

