Uncategorized

Loving the Results!

I can’t believe that it has been 4.5 months since I decided to change my health and chronicle this journey.  The results have been much better than I could have anticipated.  I look and feel great!  My eating limitations have been challenging, but as I have been feeling better I have been allowing more and more back into my diet.  I want to see if my body has healed enough that I can start eating some foods that I used to, like corn.  I have been sneaking in foods that include corn starch, so now I’m starting to feel brave enough to try something a little bit more risky–cornbread.  I’m only stepping out because having eaten some items with corn starch in it and NOT having immediate adverse reactions like I used to, gives me a little hope that I could be getting better.  We shall see.  I will definitely let you know how this goes.  I have really missed having Sloppy Joe Casserole with Cornbread, so here we go!

Day 119 Week 18: 139.4 lbs, Waist 37.5″, Bust 33″

Halloween

Don’t I look fabulous?  And so does this little man!  He was a fireman for Halloween!  Can you believe it?  He turned one year old a week and a half ago!  I am so thankful to be able to spend more time with him now.  He has been such a blessing and I love watching him grow up and develop!

And here is my recipe for the week:

Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients:
1 pkg precooked crumbled sausage
1 pkg precooked bacon
(you can get fresh bacon and cook it yourself, but I like the ease and speed of precooked for work nights)
2 medium pkgs hash browns
9 hardboiled eggs
1 8oz pkg cheddar cheese
1 8oz pkg pepper jack cheese
1 cup heavy cream

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix together sausage crumbles, hash browns, sliced hardboiled eggs and cheddar cheese in large bowl.  Sprinkle in pepper jack cheese to desired amount.  Cut up bacon into small pieces (we use scissors) and add to mixture.  Once everything is to your desired amount and thoroughly mixed, pour into two 9″ x 13″ baking pans.  Pour 1/2 cup of heavy cream into each pan.  Place both pans in the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

IMG_1549

We have tweaked this recipe so many times to find what we really like.  The last time we made it, we added 1 lb of sliced kielbasa sausage to it.  I think that was my husband’s all time favorite!  You can also add more cheese.  When we first made it we added an extra cheese layer on top, but since we’ve been cutting back on the dairy we just mix some in with everything else.  But we love this recipe for being easy and quick.  And it can last us a couple days as well.  Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

