Gluten Free, gluten free diet, Recipes

Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies

It seems like so much has happened in this last week!  We just had our latest baby appointment and we found out that we are having a GIRL!!!  We are so excited!  I was convinced that she was going to be a boy because she felt lower than my son had at this point, but come to find out, she is sitting on my bladder!  That certainly explains all the pressure down there!  She is healthy and right on track with her due date.  Thankfully she cooperated much better than my son did during his ultrasound and the doctors were able to get all the measurements they needed.  With my son, we had to come back a second time to finish his measurements because he was wiggling so much.  We certainly enjoyed getting to see our baby girl again!

baby-2-21-wks
Baby Girl at 21 Weeks

Now we know that we are having a girl, that explains all my sweets cravings too!  I had originally planned to make Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies for Christmas but since we had been sick for so long I didn’t have a chance to make them.  I was also concerned that having more sugar would prolong my yeast infection from the antibiotics.  But, sometimes, you just can’t help wanting homemade cookies.  And thankfully I have been clear of the infection now for over a week.

This was my first time ever for making this type of cookie.  And they turned out so good!  I especially liked that my son was able to help with making them.  I had him push the hershey kisses into the cookie after they finished baking and he really enjoyed that.  I’m trying to get him involved in cooking with me more.  So that was a lot of fun.

pb-cookies-w-j

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Blossoms
Ingredients
1 cup of gluten free flour (I prefer Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup of sugar
1/4 cup of brown sugar
5 tbsp butter
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
21 hershey kisses

Directions
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Mix the flour, baking soda, salt, sugar and brown sugar together in a bowl.  Make sure the brown sugar is broken down and mixed well.  Melt the butter and peanut butter in a saucepan.  Create a dry well with the dry mixture and pour the melted butter and peanut butter into the well.  Mix thoroughly.  Add the egg and vanilla extract to the mixture.  Roll the dough into tiny, approx. 1″ balls onto a greased sheet pan.  This should make 21 dough balls (I only made 20 myself).  Cook the dough for 11 minutes in the oven.  Once you take out the baked cookies start placing the hershey kisses into them.  The kisses will soften for a little bit after being placed in the hot cookies but will harden as the cookies cool off.

pb-cookies

These cookies turned out so good!  So good in fact that I had already eaten several before I took the picture!  Hahaha!  They were so easy to make and my son had such a fun time helping put the kisses in them.  I can’t wait to continue making them as a new tradition in my household.  I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

