Gluten Free, gluten free diet, Recipes

Broccoli Apple Salad

It’s difficult to stay healthy while your pregnant, and as I am finding out, even more so when you are pregnant with a girl.  This little girl is very picky with the foods she allows me to eat and most of them tend to be sweets.  I like to joke that my son was grown on Mexican food.  Not so much with this one.  She barely let’s me eat Mexican.  I have had times when I have put together a whole bowl of taco salad together and from just the smell alone I know that I won’t be able to eat it.  *sigh*  Meal planning has become very difficult because there’s a lot of food that sound and look really good, but I’m always worried that when I’m done making the meal I won’t want to touch it.

But, there are times when I do crave raw fruits and veggies.  So when I came across this recipe, it looked really good and I thought we could give it a try.  To be honest, I was slightly nervous about making it.  In the past we had tried a cucumber salad recipe from pinterest and it was an epic fail.  I don’t know if I misread the measurements or what, but it tasted awful!  Thankfully this one turned out really good!  Everyone else really likes it and baby approves.  And that’s really all that matters!

broccoli-salad-3

Broccoli Apple Salad
Ingredients
4 cups of broccoli
2 large apples
1/2 cup of matchstick carrots
1/2 cup of dried cranberries
1/4 cup chopped red onions
1/2 cup of pecans
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 cup of mayonnaise
1/2 cup of Greek yogurt
1/8 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar

Directions
– Start with your veggies and dry ingredients.  I just bought a bag of pre-chopped broccoli florets.  I’ve bought and chopped the whole head before, but this is just so much easier and faster!  All I did was chop some of the large pieces into smaller pieces and remove any long stems.  Slice your two large apples into bite-sized pieces.  Chop the red onion (I only needed to use about a third of one).  Combine in a large bowl.  Add the carrots, cranberries and pecans and mix together.

broccoli-salad-1

– In a second bowl mix your sauce.  Combine the mayonnaise, Greek yogurt, lemon juice, salt, pepper and sugar.  Mix well.
– Add your sauce into the large bowl with your fruits and veggies.

broccoli-salad-2

– Mix all together.  And voila!  Yes, it really is that easy.  The majority of my time was spent chopping and that really didn’t take that long.

I had been craving raw fruits and veggies so much that I had like a whole bowl full of this salad!  It was so good!  My son even got in on the action.  I had sliced some of the apple pieces without the sauce into smaller pieces and cut off the peels.  After having to persuade him to try a piece (he has refused to eat raw apples for a while, he only likes applesauce from a pouch) he downed a little bowl’s worth.  I was so ecstatic!  Recently he has been doing much better trying new foods and eating big people’s food with us.  Another mom-win for me!

Leave a Reply

