Stuffed Pepper Casserole
Gluten Free, gluten free diet, Health, Paleo, paleo diet, Recipes

Stuffed Pepper Casserole

How to Make Stuffed Pepper Casserole

Stuffed Pepper Casserole

So much has been going on in the past couple of weeks.  The end of March was my last day at work.  My cousin who watches my son is returning home after I have Baby Girl, so we decided since I get paid about the same amount of money as it would cost to put two kids in daycare that I could stay home.  And I would much rather stay home and raise my own children.  So this time between now and when I deliver will give me time to rest and stay healthy during the last two months of this pregnancy and to help my son adjust to a new home-life routine.  And as for how Baby Girl is doing . . . we got to see her again last week!

Baby Girl at 33 Weeks

She is doing so well!  Unlike her brother, she is constantly moving and kicking.  During this last ultrasound she would keep putting her hand in her mouth and at one point tried to fit both in!  The doctors were estimating her weight at 4 lbs and 10 oz, which is only one pound away from my son when he was born at 39 weeks!  I’m so happy at her progress, we really want a healthy baby weighing at least 6 lbs or more this time around!

At the end of March we also had the baby shower and were given a lot of food to take home.  I tried to make the most of it for as long as possible so I didn’t need to make a lot of new meals for a while.  Since then I was looking for a new meal to try and this one popped up on my pinterest feed.  It looked really good and I decided to give it a try!  I was looking for something simple and tasty and this turned out very well.

Recipe for Stuffed Pepper Casserole

Ingredients

1 lb of Ground Turkey
2 Peppers chopped
1 Onion chopped
2 Garlic Cloves minced
2 cups of rice cooked
1 jar (24 oz) pasta sauce
2 cups of shredded Italian cheese blend

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Brown ground turkey and saute the peppers, onion and garlic cloves in a large skillet.  Add rice and pasta sauce to the skillet and mix together.  Sprinkle in about a cup of shredded cheese and mix together.  Pour everything into a greased 9 x 13 baking dish.  Sprinkle the rest of the shredded cheese on top of mixture.  Place in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Stuffed Pepper Casserole

I thought that I would like some sort of bread to go with the casserole so I decided to try the Gluten Free Bisquick Biscuit mix.  You can find the recipe on the Gluten Free Bisquick box.  I didn’t particularly like these biscuits with the casserole myself.  Stand alone with butter (and even some honey, yum!) they seemed alright.  But I still would like to tweak the recipe to improve the flavor a little bit.  It seemed rather bland and had that Bisquick taste to it.  But it was something that I had wanted to try for a while.  I like using the Bisquick mix for my pancakes and pizza dough now.  The pizza dough is especially easier than any of the other gluten free recipes I’ve used in the past.

As for the casserole, the flavor was very good and I will certainly make this again.  Of course, my husband was disappointed that it wasn’t Mexican flavored.  He likes to make our stuffed peppers with Mexican seasoning.  I personally wanted to try something different, and Baby Girl doesn’t seem to like Mexican food nearly as much!  But I’m sure this would make a great Mexican casserole whenever I feel up to it . . . even if it won’t happen until after she arrives!

 

Leave a Reply

