Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole
Recipes

Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole

I have to say that cooking in this heat is hard to take.  I am so ready for this summer to be over!  I’m ready for everything Fall: the colors, the smells, the crisp feeling in the air, the spices and flavors, and yes, that it’s closer to Christmas!  Since it’s been so hot, even in the mornings, we haven’t had much of a chance to go on walks recently.  But we made an effort to go out this week.  I think my son really misses walking because he ran more than half of the way!  He was quite a slave driver, telling me, “Run, run, run!”  Shew!  I’m pretty sure I lost several pounds from that one walk alone with my son making me run, me sweating profusely in the heat and also carrying my daughter the entire way.  Thankfully, I think it’s supposed to cool down a little bit this weekend.

Summer Walk

Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole

Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole

I think this is a recipe one of my friends shared on facebook a while back.  It looked like something that my family would really enjoy.  It also gives my husband a good excuse to fry bacon!  (Like he ever needs one?)

Ingredients

1/2 lb Bacon
1 lb Ground Beef
1/2 Sweet Onion
1 Clove of Garlic
4 large Eggs
1/4 cup Heavy Cream
4 tbsp Cream Cheese
8 oz shredded Cheddar Cheese
2 tbsp Ketchup
1 tbsp Mustard
1 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
1 tsp Salt
1 tsp Pepper
1 tsp dill

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Dice cooked bacon into small pieces.
Cook ground beef until browned.  Add diced onion and minced garlic.
Once the onions and garlic are translucent add cream cheese, ketchup, mustard, salt and worcestershire sauce.  Mix well in skillet.
Spread beef mixture into 8 x 8 pan.  Top with bacon.
Whisk together eggs, heavy cream and pepper.
Pour eggs over beef and bacon.  Top with cheddar cheese.
Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Sprinkle with dill before serving.

Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole

I served with pickles, I thought it made a nice compliment to the cheeseburger experience!  And my son absolutely loves pickles!  Can’t go wrong there!  And to top it off, my husband absolutely loved this dish!  I always love it when I can make him happy with a gluten free low carb meal!  I had made some changes to the ingredients this last time around.  I’m not a fan of yellow mustard, but I seem to like dijon mustard so that’s what I used this time and it turned out really good.  (The first time I made this dish I completely omitted the mustard altogether).  Also, I ran out of heavy cream so I used half & half instead.  It seemed extra moist to me but everything tasted the same.

Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole

 

Have you been able to stay cool this summer?  I know it is not nearly as hot this year as it has been in years past, but it is oh so miserable!  The humidity has been unbearable for us and it seems to seep into our house.  I hope you are all are able to enjoy your summer!

2 thoughts on “Bacon Cheeseburger Casserole”

Leave a comment